Who are the key ministers in Abe’s cabinet

8 years ago by in Featured, Politics

abe cabinetPrime Minister Shinzo Abe announced his new cabinet line-up on Wednesday, after being voted in by parliament. Abe stated that his political priorities are beating deflation, adopting a drastic monetary policy and big public works spending.

Taro Aso (Finance Minister, Deputy Prime Minister) served as prime minister for one year, from 2008 to 2009. His political decisions caused a crushing defeat for his Liberal Democratic Party in August 2009. On the other hand, as premier he created good ties with Seoul and kept stable the relations with China.

Akira Amari (Minister for economic revival) worked for a short time for Sony Corp, before becoming a politician. He won election to the lower house in 1993. He is close to both Abe and Aso, having served in their cabinets. He continued to support nuclear power after the Fukushima nuclear accident in 2011.

Yoshimasa Hayashi (Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries) graduated from Tokyo University and Harvard. He worked together with Abe in the latter’s cabinet from 2006 to 2007, as a junior minister. Hayashi is known for his experience in economic and fiscal policy and for encouraging close ties to the U.S.

Nobuteru Ishihara (Environment and nuclear crisis minister) is known for his nationalist political views, the international press comments. He has previously served as transport and administrative reform minister, and was party secretary-general until Abe was elected as party leader.

Toshimitsu Motegi (Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry) graduated of Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. He started his political activity in 1993 in a small opposition party that helped briefly eject the Liberal Democratic Party that was in power at that time. He held several political posts, including vice foreign minister, vice trade minister and financial services minister.